Rocky Mountains in Black and White

image_1-1Rocky Mountain high….in Colorado.  

Big Surf Daddy had to transition from the salt water curls to the fresh water staircases of the Arkansas River outside of Buena Vista, Colorado.   He made the transition so well my alter ego has an alter ego.   Big Surf became Big Drop Daddy.

My wife and I ventured out to Colorado a few weeks ago.   I needed some continuing education to stay legal and relevant.  There was also a reunion of classmates from my days at the University of Houston.   I will leave off the amount of years from ‘twixt the last time I saw some of these lads and lasses till the present age.   I am secure in the wisdom and wrinkles I have accumulated over the years, but I don’t know if they are as mature as I.

During our last day in Estes Park after the classes and reunion, my wife developed her own “Rocky Mountain High”, a bad case of altitude sickness.    So… I figured the best cure would be to go another three thousand feet higher to Breckenridge.

As we arrived at our small hotel in Breckenridge, Mr. Karma came a visitin’.

While carrying our luggage up to our second floor room, I suddenly became sympathetic to the sufferings of a three-pack a day smoker who decided to start a fitness routine.   I was reminded of John Candy playing racquetball with Tom Hanks in “Splash”.

My wife would have appreciated the irony if she hadn’t been so dizzy.

We had a good-night sleep and felt better the next day.   It helped that we went down about three thousand feet  to Buena Vista for our white water rafting excursion, our first time, by the way.

Our trip down the Arkansas River was booked through River Runners.   I must say it was a tremendously good time.   Our guide was both entertaining and very experienced on the river.   He gave us a great ride.  I would recommend them to anyone.   One piece of info for you first-timers…don’t drink too much coffee before the trip.    Big Drop Daddy found it a little more challenging on the river to rid himself of the coffee’s effect on his bladder than Big Surf Daddy does in the ocean.

I took this picture on a dark and rainy day in  Rocky Mountain National Park.   The black and white worked better for the mood of the day and provided more drama.

My wife and I were with some former classmates, driving through the park.   I must say they were as nice and pleasant as I remembered them.   They were very good to my wife, whom they had just met.    One poignant moment, a midst a beautiful backdrop of mountains, they were all three in a small huddle looking at their phones comparing pictures of sons and daughters.  I guess mothers are all the same when it comes to their children, no matter if they are from Wales, South Africa, or Grants Lick, Kentucky.    In a way, it was more beautiful and natural than the mountainscape they were presently ignoring.

This was a good reunion with old friends.   These friends helped me get through some challenging times many years ago.   It was good to see where they ended up and how we have handled parenthood and our profession.   But most of all it was good to reconnect with those souls that I cared about long ago and to realize we could get back together after all these years as if nothing ever changed.

By the way, my wife and I felt a little better on the drive back to Denver.   I thought a window seat would make us  feel better on the plane ride back home.    The plane was full.    To guarantee a window seat while boarding, I called “SHOTGUN!”  Evidently that has a different meaning at Denver International Airport.

If you like this photo, you can see more of my pictures here.

About knod56

Amateurish photographer who wishes he were better at taking pictures.
This entry was posted in black and white, Landscapes, mountainscapes, scenery, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

